Our Commitment to Excellence

Celebrating a legacy of excellence, Mahaska Health celebrates its Awards and Accreditations. This achievement is truly a testament to the dedication and outstanding work of our team, as they consistently go above and beyond to serve the community and expand access to care. Mahaska Health is meeting the growing need for access to expanded services with an outstanding Medical Team led by over 60 Board Certified Physicians and 12 Medical Directors who dedicate their lives to providing the best patient-centered care for our communities.

Awards & Accreditations 1

Our Commitment to Excellence: Nationally Recognized & Award-Winning Care
Mahaska Health is the first Iowa Critical Access Hospital to implement four designated Centers of Excellence in Maternity Care & Birthing Center, Cardiology, General Surgery, and Surgical and Medical Oncology.

Joint Commission Accredited

Mahaska Health celebrates its 49th year of achieving the Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval®, the gold standard of care in quality and safety. By earning the gold seal, Mahaska Health shows its commitment to delivering excellent patient care.

Awards & Accreditations 26

Blue Cross Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Center+

Mahaska Health is proud to be recognized by Wellmark for meeting the robust selection criteria for maternity care and knee and hip replacements set by the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program, demonstrating our providers commitment to better overall patient results. Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care demonstrates expertise and a commitment to the highest quality care and better overall patient satisfaction and a lower percentage of early elective deliveries.

Blue Distinction Centers+ for Knee and Hip demonstrates expertise in total knee and total hip replacement surgeries, resulting in fewer patient complications and readmissions. Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Centers+ have a proven history of delivering exceptional care and results.

Awards & Accreditations 27

Mahaska Health mammography is accredited by the American College of Radiology. The ACR Accreditation is recognized as the gold standard in medical imaging. With 3D Mammography our highly specialized and board-certified radiologists have you covered.

Awards & Accreditations 15

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) is the world’s largest organization offering credentials in medical imaging, interventional procedures, and radiation therapy. Credentialed technologists promote high standards of patient safety and care.


Great Iowa Nurse Award recognizes Iowa nurses who routinely go above and beyond every day to ensure safe, compassionate care for their patients. We are grateful to have many Great Iowa Nurses on our Care Teams serving our community every day.

Awards & Accreditations 29

American Board of Surgery (ABS), ensures expertise in surgical excellence. With ABS certification, our Mahaska Health surgeons demonstrate rigorous standards, and commitment to excellence, lifelong learning, and quality patient care.

American Board of Surgery (ABS)