Upcoming Events

Saturday February 6
5:30 pm - 7:00 pm Share the Love 2021
Saturday February 13
No event found!

Classes at Mahaska Health

Mahaska Health offers Healthcare Provider level life support classes to the public.

Pre-registration is required for each class. Includes course material and Certification Card. Pay via cash or check payable to Mahaska Health Partnership. Please bring payment to class. Books are not included in the cost. Books can be loaned out to participants, and are to be returned to Mahaska Health.

You may pre-register by contacting the Mahaska Health Education Coordinator at 641.672.3162 or by registering here.

 

Current Healthcare Training Courses

Cost $92 – includes class and certification card, not book

2021 Scheduled Dates:

  • January 11, Monday: 1pm – 4:30pm
  • January 22, Friday: 8am – 11:30am
  • February 9, Tuesday: 8am – 11:30am
  • February 25, Friday: 1:00pm – 4:30pm
  • March 2, Tuesday: 8am – 11:30am
  • March 25, Thursday: 1:00pm – 4:30pm
  • April 6, Tuesday: 1pm – 4:30pm
  • April 29, Thursday: 8am – 11:30am
  • May 5, Wednesday: 8am – 11:30am
  • May 25, Tuesday: 1pm – 4:30pm
  • June 7, Monday: 8am – 11:30am
  • June 30, Thursday: 1pm – 4:30pm

Initial Certification

Cost $180 – includes class and certification card, not book

2021 Scheduled Dates:

  • Day 1: February 17, Wednesday: 8am – 4:30pm
  • Day 2: February 18, Thursday: 8am – 12:30pm
  • Day 1: June 16, Wednesday: 8am – 4:30pm
  • Day 2: June 17, Thursday: 8am – 12:30pm

Renewal Certification

Cost $110 – includes class and certification card, not book

2021 Scheduled Dates:

  • January 12, Tuesday: 8am – 2:30pm
  • April 15, Thursday: 8am – 2:30pm
  • May 11, Tuesday: 8am – 2:30pm

Initial Certification

Cost $190 – includes class and certification card, not book

2021 Scheduled Dates:

  • Day 1: March 18, Thursday: 8am – 4:30pm
  • Day 2: March 19, Friday: 8am – 12pm

 

Renewal Certification

Cost $110 – includes class and certification card, not book

2021 Scheduled Dates:

  • January 21, Thursday: 8am – 2:30pm
  • April 21, Wednesday: 8am – 2:30pm
  • May 20, Thursday: 8am – 2:30pm
  • June 22, Tuesday: 8am – 2:30pm

Classes & Events 10

Cost $50 – includes class and certification card, not book

The AHA’s Heartsaver® CPR / AED Course is a classroom, Instructor-led course designed to prepare students to provide CPR and use an automated external defibrillator (AED) in a safe, timely, and effective manner. Upon successful completion of the course, including a CPR and AED skills test, students receive a Heartsaver® CPR/AED course completion card, valid for two years.

2021 Scheduled Dates:

                  • No Dates Scheduled Yet – TBA

Don’t see a class you’re interested in? Call us to see if Mahaska Health can help you locate a service nearby.

Class Location: Unless noted otherwise, all courses take place on the Mahaska Health campus, at the Cedar Bluff Learning Center. Enter Door #3 and the meeting room will be to your left.

Complete the form to sign up for a course.

We will respond to you as quickly as possible.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Alzheimer’s Support Group

The Alzheimer’s Support Group is organized by members of the community for anyone whose life has been affected by a loved one with Alzheimer’s. The group meets on the 2nd Thursday of every month at 7:00 pm in the Private Dining Room.

Meetings are held at Homestead Assisted Living & Memory Care

2102 S Market St
Oskaloosa, IA 52577
641-450-1904

Classes & Events 11

Medical Nutrition Therapy

Our Registered Dietitian is available to provide inpatient and outpatient nutritional education and works closely with you to develop a personalized eating plan specific to your unique goals and needs. We counsel people of all ages on nutrition as well as those affected by certain conditions such as obesity, thyroid issues, diabetes and more.

Individual Nutrition Education and Follow Up

  • Type I and Type II diabetes
  • Pre Diabetes
  • Gestational Diabetes
  • Chronic Renal Disease
  • Cardiac Conditions
  • Obesity
  • Failure to Thrive / Underweight
  • Celiac Disease
  • Food Allergies
  • Pre Weight Loss Surgery
  • Education (Gastric Bypass or Lap band)

 

Fees and Payment Options

Fees for Diabetes Education or counseling by a Registered Dietitian may be covered by insurance and may also require a referral from your primary care provider. Our dietitian can assist you in obtaining this referral. Medicare, Medicaid, private insurance and private pay are all accepted.

 

Registered Dietitian Lea Rice’s office is best accessed by entering through entrance #4.

641.672.3303

lrice@mahaskahealth.org